The Raven: In Review

I was recently given the opportunity to read and review The Raven by Mike Nappa. I jumped at the chance for a few reasons. One, it was endorsed by a favorite author. Two, the cover looked enticing. I know, I know, but it’s true. Three, I have heard of this author and was curious.

726451

So, here’s my review!

The Raven didn’t move as fast as I was under the impression it would. I think this is a case of my expectations got the better of me, and because I don’t do a ton of research before I read, I expected something more action packed. I really think this is my fault. I shouldn’t dock any stars because I didn’t pay enough attention. Also, because this was a cover ‘buy’ for me, the genre wasn’t what it looked to be. Oops. Again, this is my fault. Since you’re reading this review you won’t have the same issues I did!

It probably sounds like I didn’t enjoy the book but I did!

I have not read Annebel Lee, the first book in the series, and I was never lost or totally out of the loop. I appreciated that! Enough of the story was eluded too that it piqued my curiosity and I have it on loan from the library. I will be checking out the next book in the series when it comes out.

The writing was fluid and precise. the characters were easily imagined and all had a great voice. There were a few plot twists I didn’t see coming. This was a perfect book to have at hand for a busy week. Didn’t demand my every moment, but enough of a mystery going to make sure I reached for it on my down time. For sure going on my “trusted author” list. Shout out to Revell Books for the opportunity.

*I received this book in exchange for review. My words are my own*

Leave a Reply

