In ReView: Hiding Places

I am a big fan of suspense novels. That being said, I tend to find a mystery a little underwhelming and a bit hard to get into. However, once I have devoted myself to the book I am usually happy I stuck it out.

51FZCAw7RoL._SX326_BO1,204,203,200_

Hiding Places was just such a book for me. I found myself curious, but not enough to really dig in and devour it. Couple that with the extremely busy week I picked to start the book, and I am sure that contributed to my slow progress. Fast forward a few days to the weekend. That allowed me more time for reading and my interest picked up at that point in the book as well. I found myself pleased about the genre in general and admiring the skill it takes while also enjoying the throw-back, classic feeling of a good mystery. I preface my overall review with all of that because you need to know where I am coming from to understand why I like or don’t like certain aspects of the book.

e86aa82b381be8ba1a0c4abc0f678f42

As stated above I found it slow going. Now, I know that a slower paced book is an important part of of my reading life, so you could argue that slow is good and I would agree. However, that doesn’t mean I am content or happy about it at first. It’s a bit of an acquired taste. There are a few view points going on and I found it hard to remember details and facts – causing confusion from time to time. Blame that on the fact that I needed to put the book down fairly often if you’d like. I honestly couldn’t tell you which is at fault.

85be016d12b91341b2089fc34430921a

Once submerged in understanding my appreciation for the story blossomed, curiosity built and my predictions began to beg for answers. Hiding Places was nowhere near a drudgery! Simply a moseying or ambling pace. As I said, the story was weaving together and I was looking forward to more! Some characters, unlikely to pass each other in life, were bumping into each other and I loved how surprised I was. The “Six Degrees of Separation” theory is intriguing to me and a lot of that was in play.

94654e92086f0bb46cb1f4db6c1c4760

Alongside the cozy mystery was a touch of historical fiction that gave me a new perspective of WWII; a consequence and side effect I had never thought of or read about before. I don’t want to give to much away here – I hardly ever even read the synopsis pages!- But I will say that the title of the book began to make sense and it brought a smile to my face. I am constantly amazed at how an author can take a subject or character on a journey I never expected. We tend to see things at a surface level and I love the deeper look into the story and their lives.

2d8b72b93372b6e9ad8811a550bedc7d

Hiding Places accomplished that. I found it believable – yet another change of pace from my current genre picks! I have to hand it to Erin Healy there. She is great at story building, seeing beyond the mere surface look of a story; giving you a deeper picture and making you wonder how you didn’t see it sooner. The good thing about a realistic book is it builds empathy and helps you see new view points. I’m grateful for the reminder.

I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys mystery and historical fiction, or to someone who needs a bit of a break from their fast-paced to-be-read pile.

*I received a free copy of this book in exchange for a review. I am under no obligation to read or review and the words are my own*

Leave a Reply

