ReView: The Gathering

Now that the series is over I can give my full and complete thoughts and review. While writing the previous reviews –here and here– I felt that I should hold back on the gushing. I did my best to do so. Fully realizing that the ending could ruin everything for me. So I held back, I waited and I hoped. I am no longer holding back!

The-Gifting-series-500x250

The Gathering completely held my focus. Despite doing my best to drag out the story as long as I could, I only made it two whole days. Actually more like a day and a half. If you haven’t read The Awakening yet, just know that it ends with a major cliffhanger! I was chomping at the bit to get started on this. I was not disappointed, it never let up. She had me upset and mad, waiting on baited breath throughout it all. To me that’s a sign of a good author.  When I first bought this I was happy, in the middle I was ready to toss it across the room, and at the end I was crying and clutching it to my chest. Call me crazy if you like, but I will tell you why I was so moved and you can decide for yourself.

6d8ee2807521f4de8ae0978fe6fa3319

This story builds. It’s expertly crafted to be layer upon layer. You don’t even notice. It’s like a slow small build of heat. You acclimate and adjust and without even realizing it you are just burning up and you feel just as overwhelmed as Tess. Her mind is spinning and your mind is spinning right along with it. Katie does a wonderful job at character development and pulling you into that world. There was no way I could think ahead and predict anything, I was so enraptured. I was Tess. When she was shocked I was too. When she was mad so was I!

1654c9d153c4ecd5f88c28ccb7d4fc15

Now that you know it’s a book that will make you a first person player, let’s talk about what you have to go through. Tess has plenty to be upset and overwhelmed about! The Gathering is full of everything. Surprises, action, romance, hope, and despair. There’s no lack to be mentioned. You may argue and say, “That’s in every book!” Well yes, ideally it will be. But you have to admit every author does it differently. Some are experts at their craft, and others not so much. Katie is a master craftsman. She takes scenarios you would only be able to describe as “intense” or “dramatic” and gives it new meaning. Make you realize one small word doesn’t convey the depth of emotions she put you through. I try not to post any spoilers, so I am afraid to say more. If you’ve already started the series you’ll know what I mean. If you haven’t, what’s stopping you? Let’s see if I can convince you some more.

Screen Shot 2015-08-14 at 7.35.05 PM

I really am surprised there is no lull to be mentioned. As I said, I was attempting to be slightly reserved just in case the series as a whole wasn’t all it seemed it could be. My doubt was unnecessary. This series delivers. It’s very cohesive and precise. A few times I thought I caught some inconsistent mess ups and found out I was wrong.

I love the balance of it all. Creepy without going into anything horrific. Dramatic without being shallow. The romance was beautiful and had some reality to it I appreciated. I have no reserves recommending this series. Other than once it invades your life, and then leaves, you will be lost and sad for a bit. To me that’s another ear mark of a good book and authors capabilities. I could go on for days, but I wouldn’t have anything negative to say. I hope you read these and enjoy them as much as I have!

If you are interested in starting the series The Gifting is just 99 cents right now! Grab it here or here. Stop by and let me know what you thought.

One thought on “ReView: The Gathering

Leave a Reply

