Book Re View: Awake

If you’re looking for a sweet romance as well as some suspense, I have the book for you! I started reading Awake by Natasha Preston yesterday, and I couldn’t put it down. Right away I was drawn in and suspicious, so of course I had to push through and solve the mystery!  I really wish I hadn’t read it so fast. I would have loved to draw it out a bit.

22881022

I enjoyed the setting it was in. Not your typical American kids running around solving mysteries. Lately, I have been reading books with very little to no romance. The romance in Awake was well balanced and a nice change of pace for me. I found it to be believable, if a bit sudden. The characters are pretty well developed. I didn’t have any trouble picturing them, nor did I feel they were inconsistent. I was also wrecked when.. Well I can’t tell you that! It’d spoil everything! Just know that I never expected such a betrayal.

I don’t think the synopsis does this book justice, although I love the excerpt, and I love that it doesn’t give to much away. I don’t like to spoil anything for readers, but I can comfortably say that if you just read the synopsis you are in for a great plot twist! I felt that it was rather unique. And if you disagree that’s fine, but I am guessing you can admit it’s unexpected.

5741268

All in all it was a step above a fluffy, easy, take-a-break kind of book. I have no problem recommending it to others. It probably won’t keep you up all night, unless you want it to. It’s not likely to haunt you or leave you hungover, either. It was just the book I needed this week.  I honestly think between not being able to put it down, and the unexpected plot twist this book gets 4 stars.

*I received a free copy of this book for review purposes. However I am under no obligation to read or review  this book. I did so entirely of my own free will. My opinions and words are my own*

2 thoughts on “Book Re View: Awake

Leave a Reply

