The Awakening ReView

Call me crazy, but I kind of like it when books run me over! They smother and take over. The words just drag me in and do whatever they like. Thank you authors. This may be a post for another day, but if you understand what I am saying, even just a little bit, you’ll want to read this book.

51p0AaVTZpL._UY250_511FhAM26mL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_

I received The Awakening this week! This is the sequal to The Gifting (reviewed here) by K.E. Ganshert. Just thinking about this series puts a big stupid grin on my face. They did run me over though! Why would I grin about that, you may ask. Well, because I am thrilled to have gone on the ride. I’m shocked that a person could do that to me and so I compliment that talent with a “well done” smile. I can “lose” gracefully. To the books anyways. Let me see if I can tell you what makes this book so great, without any spoilers.

0f1e12236a88f9bf5fc42b57430efe65

First off, The Awakening is a sequel, so I am already in love with the characters. I didn’t need to spend time getting to know them, I was able to jump into the suspense right away.  The quest is a bit different in this book. There is more knowledge, more problems to solve and more ability to solve them. But like any good series, book two is just a tangle of so much. You’re mid story and the agony of suspense is paramount. I couldn’t put it down. For every solution there was a new problem, or two, springing up.  Exquisite torture, I’m telling you.

200_s

The Awakening builds on The Gifting perfectly.  Everything you felt in the first book comes with you into the second. I found I was still jumpy and haunted. Ready for the “boo!” whenever it was unleashed. The romance was still there. Not too much, just enough. That perfect blend. I’m afraid to say much more for fear of giving anything away! Just trust me when I say you’ll love it!

suspense

There’s more action. The characters grow and show their merit. They stand up and prove we love them for good reason. There is just more in this book. There was never anything lacking, and yet the story builds and you get to explore. As our characters discover more, you get to go with them! The horizon changes and you can’t help but be in awe and suspense! There is nothing disappointing I can mention or bring up. Except that the series is not finished and published! I will be pre-ordering book three asap!

350x700px-LL-c2e85084_image

Come back and let me know what you thought of the books. Thanks for stopping by!

One thought on “The Awakening ReView

Leave a Reply

