The Gifting ReView

I’m not even sure I will be able to articulate how I feel about this book. It was just that good! When people rave about books, like I am about to do, it’s kind of unbelievable. You think “Could it really be that fantastic?” I am here to tell you it is! This book is quite new. It’s also a new genre for K.E. Ganshert. The fact that it’s her first go in this particular category, and independently published, may have you feeling skeptical. Let it go and take the plunge! It is more than worth it. Now I will expound on why, since that’s what you’re here for.

51p0AaVTZpL._UY250_

The Gifting deals with the supernatural, but not in the way you have come to expect. The stage is set in the near future. The book feels just like home, but with a few political adjustments.  The result leaves you comfortable enough to really sink into the book. And you do settle in. I was completely engrossed. I am very careful about the type of spooky books I read. I firmly believe they have a huge impact, so I have become picky. I was cautious about this book. Prepared to put it away if it proved too much for me. It never pushed me over that edge. It did, however, hold me at that edge. I was jumpy and skittish. But then when it was time to sleep I had no issues. I call that a perfect blend!

27408-at-the-edge-of-a-cliff-1680x1050-digital-art-wallpaper

Not only was her plot perfectly blended and engaging, her characters were as well. I found them intriguing, frustrating, enjoyable and most of all believable. I could see them easily and I was absorbed by them. I became them. And really that’s the whole point of reading, isn’t it? So, another point for being spot on! I found myself with a big ol’ stupid grin when the two main characters interact. I loved the inner monologue of Tess. She was quite humorous.

book-77

I really could go on and on, raving over this book, but I don’t want to spoil anything! I will say when I finished I was ready to pick up the second book! There’s a cliffhanger -isn’t there always? Again, perfectly done. Enough of a cliff to keep you in the world, but enough closure to allow you to live productively during the break. I know we all love a good book hangover. Some hit harder than others, and this one leaves a sting for sure. It will be a short-lived burn, as The Awakening comes out July first!  Don’t hesitate, there’s no reason to. The Gifting is 3.99 on Kindle and Nook, The Awakening is 3.99 on Kindle. I bought mine on paperback and I am glad I did. I will be sharing with everyone I know. Come back and let me know what you thought!

3 thoughts on “The Gifting ReView

Leave a Reply

