Book Slump

The dreaded book slump has arrived. In all honesty, I have been expecting and waiting for it. It was bound to happen. Anticipated or not, I find it irritating. How can my passion just leave? I have decided that it doesn’t. Books are like the best of friends. There for you always, even when you don’t chat every day. So I wait. I have my stack of books all ready to go. I continue to try and immerse myself into the worlds the words take me to.

aa758d10b90c4d96653d42da247a216d

If you follow me on any of my social media accounts, you’ll already know that I recently started a book that was not all it was made out to be. This frustrates me immensely and has not helped me over my slump. I chose to walk away from the book, which is something I am reluctant to do and does not happen often. I feel like someone offered me an oatmeal raisin cookie claiming it was chocolate chip! Who would do that?

2d8b72b93372b6e9ad8811a550bedc7d

I feel as though so many things have conspired to slow me down. There are a few book series that I am anxious to finish but can’t. Recently, I was rocked by a cliffhanger and honestly nothing after would be even worth my time. It was that good! Also, life as a parent has been busy. Summer colds keeping us on our toes. Rainy days that would be perfect for reading, are instead being used  to keep my beloved munchkins happy and entertained, due to the inability to play outside.  We enjoyed a nice long weekend, filled with family time and secret adventures. A day full of memories being made, without the distractions I so often take with me. It was truly lovely!

ded4ae7b6b068662f20fbe15f5ac3cc5

I have to remember life is not just about books. No matter how much I would enjoy that at times. Or how easy it would be to become so singularly focused.   I will accept the book slump I am in, as an effort to balance. I did, after all, read almost a dozen books just last month. I am sure I don’t need a break, right?

What do you do when you are in a slump?

Social media accounts here, here and here.

One thought on “Book Slump

Leave a Reply

