Taken by Dee Henderson in ReView

My friends and I were reading Dee Henderson ten or so years ago. So, when I had the opportunity to become reacquainted with her work I went for it! I am glad I did.

23411544

Synopsis;

*An investigator who knows tragic loss firsthand,
and his new client, missing far too long…

Abducted at the age of sixteen and coerced into assisting the Jacoby crime family, Shannon Bliss has finally found a way out. She desperately wants to resume some semblance of normal life, but she also knows she has some unfinished business to attend to. She might have enough evidence to put her captors behind bars for a very long time.

When Shannon contacts private investigator Matthew Dane, a former cop, to help her navigate her reentry into society, he quickly discovers that gaining her freedom doesn’t mean her troubles are over. If the Jacoby family learns she is still alive, they’ll stop at nothing to silence her.

If justice is to be done, and if Shannon’s life is ever to get on track again, Matthew will need to discover exactly what happened to her–even if it means stirring up a hornet’s nest of secrets.*

Shannon’s journey was not what I was expecting to read. I was sucked in right from the start -intrigued by the main story as well as the backstory. They are two situations that are similar and yet Henderson manages to make them both unique to the women who endured them, and for the man who helped them each heal in their own ways.

I found Mathew to be a well balanced character. He was loving and gentle yet strong enough to handle the mess he was chosen to help clean up. Mature with an appreciation for adventure. He knew what it would take to bring healing and was steady enough to help.

Shannon was interesting as I didn’t expect a lot of her reactions. I was just as surprised as Matthew and I found myself admiring her quite a bit. Marveling at the lack of bitterness and I argued how plausible it was. She seemed unrealistic, and then Henderson articulated the theology behind the strength Shannon’s.

Henderson did a great job with some very delicate issues. A frequently asked question is “Why does God allow bad things to happen?”  Henderson very eloquently and passionately answers the question. It will stay with me the rest of my life. I will let you read it for yourself. In my opinion the book could have ridiculous characters and still would have been worth it for the theme of faith through adversity.

I do have a couple tiny critiques. The dialogue is very polite and proper, but the emotion comes through because I am able to fill in what isn’t being said. The second thing, and I blame this on my usual book choices, is that I kept waiting for the surprise. The BOO! if you will, and it never showed up. Just keep that in mind when you are picking out what to read next. If you need a break from the insane suspense this would be great! If you’re looking for that up-all-night-edge-of-you-seat book, you may want to wait on this.

I would easily recommend this book to friends and I would allow my kids to read it when they’re interested. As I said earlier, and it bears repeating, the strength of faith coupled with the explanation behind the faith is so eloquent and refreshing! It really makes the few things I didn’t love about the book easy to ignore.

If you’re interested you can preorder at Amazon, B&N and CBD

Thanks for stopping by!

*I received a copy of this book for review purposes. However my thoughts are my own and I was under no obligation to read or review*

Leave a Reply

