Review: The Inn at Ocean’s Edge

51i64MCELoL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

I just finished up The Inn at Ocean’s Edge by Colleen Coble. If you want to read the synopsis you can find it, along with the book for purchase here.

This book is closer to a mystery, having a slow and gentle build. Coble draws you in with confidence. Immediately taken in with the odd and improbable questions being faced, I was drawn into the lives of the characters and the beauty of their surroundings. I enjoyed the scenery, being an ocean lover myself. Coble’s descriptions took me away, I could smell the sea air and feel the wind in my hair. I found myself drawn to Luke and anxious and worried about Claire. I could feel her fear and needed to know all that she went through. I fought for her.

If you’re looking for a mystery that will keep your mind whirring, coupled with some romance, this would be a good book for you.

The only minor complaints I have don’t pop up until the end. The character development that was consistent through two-thirds of the book seems to shift some. The characters themselves are the same as when they were introduced, however, the dialogue didn’t always match up with my imagination. Small things. Pet names where used that weren’t the way I envisioned Luke speaking. Being more than half way through a book and having to adjust your mindset of a character felt a bit jerky to me.  I overcame it after a minor pause and small setback. It didn’t deter my curiosity at all. I would quickly recommend this book to others. Despite my imagined discrepancies.

Thanks for stopping by!

*I received a free copy of this book or review purposes. However, I am under no obligation to read or review and the words I use are honest and my own.*

Leave a Reply

