I Walked Away from a Book

You’re here, so I am pretty sure you know how much I love books. I blogged recently about how many books I had to read and review and all the things on my to do list. It all added up to be quite overwhelming at the time. Nevertheless I pushed through and loved the feeling of accomplishment from getting through it all. I was celebrating and taking a little break from the rush- also admittedly getting sidetracked with some curiosity over a few new books I had heard about. I was in the throes of complete book love. My voracious appetite could not be quenched, and I could not have cared less. I just wanted more, as much as I could. However, to be smart, I checked the schedule and was surprised at how little time I had before the next review deadline. I figured it wouldn’t be an issue, I had just read through 4 books in a week, why would one book take longer than a week?

1e6c4f22575e4b68637cedc98b3f0ab6

I tidied up the house from my recent book binge, in preparation for the next one. I am after all a grown up – so they tell me- and I have to act like it!

8aeffbf76a2b06301932bd47e7f62dfa

Fast forward through life and you find me 28 pages in. Those 28 pages took me 3 days to get through. I have no desire to finish the book at all and I have lost my zeal for reading in general. I can make all the excuses and state all the reasons, but the result is the same. I have decided not to finish the book. This is only the second book in my life I have walked away from. This is not an easy choice for me. I made the mistake of requesting something in a genre I have no heart for. I firmly believe that authors deserve more respect than a careless walk away. I also know that if someone had no interest in my work then I would not force it on them. All of this has lead me to think of all the people I meet who are not really into books. I think those people have a hard time understanding me and how I can read so much and love it.

0e69c022aa9bafda8605e1f4687d127b

If you can’t find a love for books I would encourage you to keep trying new authors and genres. What you want is out there. It’s a vast world and you can find whatever you enjoy. I know I have and I am going to stick to it, even if it takes longer than I would like to build my review foundation.

tumblr_mvf7dns76N1qk4y94o1_1280

For those of you who read often, how do you choose what to walk away from and what to push through the finish with?

Leave a Reply

