A Challenge is Born

Since starting and promoting my blog, I have had the honor of being told I inspired two people to partake onthe adventures available at their fingertips.                                                                                                                     a_new_adventure I was talking to one of these people and was told the book I recommended was “Easier to read diction wise, and easy to follow.” I thought to myself, “Wow, someone else who appreciates not just the story, but the way in which its formed.” I know there must be other readers who do that, but to hear it from someone was something new for me. Flash forward a few hours later and I am reading How to Prepare for NaNoWriMo and bumped into my own inspiration!

nano-challenge

I have decided to do some behind the scenes work next month, in an attempt to participate in the event.  I am not ashamed to admit that I find my decision very daunting! The whole concept is overwhelming to me. I don’t find writing to be my strong suit -ironic I know- I prefer to critique. I have a feeling that my critical habits will hamper my attempt to just let words fly to turn into a story. I won’t let that stop me.

awkward_sentence-jpg

I want to partake in the frenzy, to feel the rush the writers feel, anguish over just the right word. I need to feel that rush of completing a work of well chosen words. Now, I may not be able to accomplish those goals. In fact, I am almost sure I will fail at the attempt. Achieving those goals aren’t the only reason why I am going on this adventure. I am doing this so that I can understand the process and the effort it takes to write.

NaNoWriMo___Poster_V_by_Pianochick66

As I am sure you’re aware, if you have read even one of my posts, or know me at all, I am a bookworm. I just can’t get enough! I thrive on the words I read. Even more than that, I can appreciate all the work that’s put into the books I read. I think it’s important to know the how and the why behind it all.

tumblr_mcy5p3FYaH1rsn3h6o1_1280

Taking part in this challenge will keep me from taking books or authors for granted and allow me to understand them better. To become a better reader and editor. At least that’s my hope behind the effort. You may think to yourself that I am making a bigger deal out of this than should be made. Well that’s just me! If you take a peek into an authors world, you would know it’s a big deal to them too! This should be fun! This month I will be watching Emilie’s blog and preparing to let my fingers fly in November!

Enter my giveaway here and help me prepare for this amazing challenge!

*Giveaway has ended*

2 thoughts on “A Challenge is Born

Leave a Reply

